Movie News and Reviews

Top 10 Animated Films of 2000’s


From 2000-2009 there were 50+ blockbuster animated films made by big name companies. I’ve seen at least half of them.  Most of the one’s I haven’t seen are from the past couple of years. I actually haven’t seen that many movies since I graduated high school.  I had more time when I was still in high school. Now, I work full-time, I go to school full-time, and I’m married. I’m sure that once I have a kid we’ll see just about every animated film that comes out.

Without further ado, here’s my TOP 10.

  1. Avatar(2009)
  2. Now, I had to include Avatar. Off the top of my head, I think this belongs in the Top 5 movies(all together) I’ve seen in the past 10 years, maybe further than that. This movie was just incredible.

  3. Madagascar(2005)
  4. “Sugar Honey Iced Tea!” probably my favorite quote from the movie. It definitely made me Laugh Out Loud. One of the main reasons why I loved this movie soooo much was because of the actors and actress’ that were casted in it. It had Ben Stiller, Chris Rock, Jada Pinket Smith, David Schwimmer(Friends), Sacha Baron Cohen(Borat), and even Cedric the Entertainer. What a fun movie!

  5. Coraline(2009)
  6. This one’s a little darker but I loved it none-the-less. It told the story of a lonely girl in a new home who had neglectful parents and found a door to a magical world. The Director Henry Sellick, also made animated films such as James and the Giant Peach, and The Nightmare Before Christmas, the animated styles of those two movies definitely showed in this one(I also loved those movies as well)

  7. TMNT(2007)
  8. My all time favorite cartoon from when I was a child. Yes, there has been non-animated versions of this cartoon series, but this is the first animated full-length, feature film and I was very excited. It wasn’t as good as the real life adaptations to the cartoon, but it definitely was worth watching. I recently found out that the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles have been purchased by Nickelodeon, which means a new movie comes out a few years from now. I’m kinda bummed about that now. They don’t need to be redone again. Just let them be.

  9. Finding Nemo(2003)
  10. This movie was sad, joyful, and scary all at the same time. It was definitely a fun time watching this one. It’s kinda funny how they never made a sequel or a TV series out of Nemo.

  11. Ice Age(2002)
  12. After Manny discovers Sid in a hot tub (of mud) trying to impress two female creatures with the baby, he says (about Sid) that when “some pretty tale walks by” he “moves like a cheetah.” The subtle-ness of this moment is great. Kids aren’t really catching on but as a teen when the movie came out, I was cracking up. I guess they gotta appeal to all ages if they want to be really successful.

  13. Monsters Inc(2001)
  14. A very cute movie, I really liked Sulley, the big blue monster, probably because he’s voiced by John Goodman. Billy Crystal plays Mike, the little green monster, definitely yet another reason I like this movie. While writing this list, I’ve come to realize that if the actors who portray these animated creatures on-screen are people whom I’ve grown to like throughout life, it’s more likely that I’ll like that movie.

  15. Shrek(2001)
  16. Between Mike Myers and Eddie Murphy, I loved this movie. Mainly because of Eddie Murphy. This was such a funny movie, there were times where I just could not stop laughing.

  17. The Incredibles(2004)
  18. I had to include this movie, simply for my love of comics and super heroes. One of the other reasons why it made the list, Samuel L. Jackson voices Frozone, my favorite character in the film.

  19. Robots(2005)
  20. I actually just bought this movie on Blu-Ray recently. It’s a timely tale of young inspiration. The young robot is an inventor and he wants to travel to the greatest inventor Bigweld to pitch him is invention. A funny movie all around.

Honorable Mention: The Grinch, Curious George, Alvin & The Chipmunks

Did I miss anything? Are there any movies that you feel should’ve been included???

3 responses

  1. Pingback: You Shouldn’t Throw Stones If You Live In A Glass House « Life as we know it….

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Animated Films of 2000′s « Movies R Us | Eddie Murphy

  3. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have
    any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

    July 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

